Story ideas, from whence they come

The Goblin Reservation by Clifford D. Simak

“Peter Maxwell was a respected faculty member of the College of Supernatural Phenomena—until the day he was murdered. Imagine his chagrin when he turns up at a Wisconsin matter transmission station weeks later and discovers he’s not only dead but unemployed…

Today both BookBub and Early Bird Books were offering this eBook at a discount price.  I usually glance through the descriptive blurb to see if a book might interest me, and noticed the bit I put in bold:  “he’s not only dead but unemployed…

I’m a writer (not professionally), so not unexpectedly it sparked an idea.

“Hey, man, I’m sorry.  You’re dead.  We had to let you go.”

“But I’m standing right in front of you, and I can work.  Help me out here!”

“Pete, do you have any idea the problems that come up when you have a dead person on the payroll?  It would be a nightmare!  It just isn’t worth the hassle.  I wish I could help you, but I’d lose my job if I did.”

He turned away and then stopped dead in his tracks, his expression clearly indicating he didn’t believe he had just spoken those words to someone.  Then he gave a little shake of his head, obviously not wanting to think too much about it.

You just never know what will trigger an idea!

Leave a Reply

